Do I need to report a crash?
A state reportable crash is defined as a crash involving an injury, a fatality or at least $4,000 in property damage. Crashes with undomesticated animals (i.e., wildlife) that do not involve injury or fatality are not reportable to the state regardless of the property damage amount.
North Dakota Century Code reads as follows:
39-08-09. Immediate notice of accident - Penalty.
1. The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any individual, or property damage to an apparent extent of at least four thousand dollars, shall immediately give notice of the accident to the local police department if the accident occurs within a municipality, otherwise to the office of the county sheriff or the state highway patrol. A driver who violates this section must be assessed a fine of fifty dollars. The name of the motor vehicle insurance policy carrier and the policy number of the driver, or if the driver is not the owner of the vehicle, then the motor vehicle insurance policy carrier and the policy number of the owner of the vehicle, must be furnished to the law enforcement officer investigating the accident. If the driver does not have the required information concerning insurance to furnish to the investigating law enforcement officer, then within five days of the accident the driver shall supply that information to the driver's license division in the form the division requires.
2. The director may suspend the license or permit to drive and any nonresident operating privileges of any person failing to comply with the duties as provided in sections 39-08-06 through 39-08-09 until those duties have been fulfilled, and the director may extend the suspension not to exceed thirty days.
3. The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident with an undomesticated animal resulting in property damage only to the driver's vehicle is exempt from the notice requirements of this section, regardless of the amount of damage to the driver's vehicle.
How do I obtain a crash report?
Reports for traffic crashes that are reportable* to the North Dakota Department of Transportation are
for purchase online. For an official copy of a crash report, go to
North Dakota Department of Transportation's fee for a crash report is $7.00.
* North Dakota Century Code 39-08-09 defines a reportable crash as a motor vehicle traffic crash which results in injury, fatality or at
$4,000 total in property damage. Crashes involving undomesticated animals
there was no injury or fatality, regardless of the
damage amount, are not reportable.
If you have more questions, please contact ND Department of Transportation on their website at
How do I obtain a crime report?
Contact the Records Specialist at 444-7629. Reports can be emailed or mailed via postal service for $2 per page.
The Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) processes the applications and issues concealed weapon licenses.
Find out if you are ELIGIBLE and how to apply for, or RENEW, a ND concealed weapon license and which states have RECIPROCITY.
Please do not call with inquiries - the BCI is prohibited by law from providing information about the status of a concealed weapon license application to anyone, even the applicant. Instead, please follow the instructions for making a written status inquiry.
You can review North Dakota's Weapons Laws in Title 62.1 of the North Dakota Century Code.
How can I pay a person's bond?
When is jail visitation?
Forms and Permits
How to get a burn permit?
Upper Missouri Health District or speak with Emergency Manager Karolin Jappe. See application
Where can I find the form for hosting a dance/event?
Where can I obtain information for a Protection Order?
How can I get my vehicle from impound?
Contact Patrol Administrative Assistant @ 444-7518
When Can I Get Fingerprinted?
As of February 1st, 2019, the cost is $20.00 for 1 or 2 print cards. The Sheriff's Office will accept cash or credit card payments. There is a convenience fee for credit card payments. A photo ID is required.
Fingerprinting is available: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM
How do I pay a citation?